Available 24/7 at (800) 927-7671

Join Zappos Rewards and Get Expedited Shipping!*

My Cart

Chaco Z/1® Classic Reviews

Customer Reviews
StarStarStarStarStar
4 out of 5 stars (48 reviews)
48 reviews
total

Overall Rating:

73%StarStarStarStarStar

12%StarStarStarStarStar

4%StarStarStarStarStar

8%StarStarStarStarStar

2%StarStarStarStarStar

Customer Fit Survey:

85%"Felt true to size"

91%"Felt true to width"

80%"Excellent arch support"

Top Positive Review

1 person found this review helpful
OverallStarStarStarStarStar
ComfortStarStarStarStarStar
StyleStarStarStarStarStar
Now on my second pair of these versatile sandals. May not be the prettiest shoes, but for comfort and durability, they are unmatched. Despite medical issues with my feet which limit my ability to walk long distances, I was able to walk miles and miles in my Chaco sandals on a trip through Australia without any discomfort or ill effects. Also fabulous for walking in water along the shore, protecting your feet from injury due to sharp objects. The sole provides grip under slippery conditions such as wet concrete, by pools, wet gym floors or even rugged hiking trails. Ten stars, highly recommended!
April 27, 2017 by Anonymous
vs

Top Critical Review

1 person found this review helpful
OverallStarStarStarStarStar
ComfortStarStarStarStarStar
StyleStarStarStarStarStar
Heavy and uncomfortable despite lots of cushioning. Also, middle strap too tight as I have a high arch.
January 6, 2017 by BRENDA D
Search

Additional 48 Z/1® Classic Chaco Reviews

  • Sort by:
  • Most Helpful
  • Newest

1 2 Next »

1 person found this review helpful
StarStarStarStarStar
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:StarStarStarStarStarComfort:StarStarStarStarStarStyle:StarStarStarStarStar
Was this review helpful?
Now on my second pair of these versatile sandals. May not be the prettiest shoes, but for comfort and durability, they are unmatched. Despite medical issues with my feet which limit my ability to walk long distances, I was able to walk miles and miles in my Chaco sandals on a trip through Australia without any discomfort or ill effects. Also fabulous for walking in water along the shore, protecting your feet from injury due to sharp objects. The sole provides grip under slippery conditions such as wet concrete, by pools, wet gym floors or even rugged hiking trails. Ten stars, highly recommended!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Anonymous - customer
  • April 27, 2017
1 person found this review helpful
1 person found this review helpful
JoAnn S from IL
StarStarStarStarStar
Overall:StarStarStarStarStarComfort:StarStarStarStarStarStyle:StarStarStarStarStar
Was this review helpful?
A great shoe for many people, however the sole is too rigid for me. I have a very delicate spine and need a shoe with a flexible sole.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • JoAnn S - customer
  • from IL
  • July 10, 2016
1 person found this review helpful
1 person found this review helpful
BRENDA D from Florida
StarStarStarStarStar
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:StarStarStarStarStarComfort:StarStarStarStarStarStyle:StarStarStarStarStar
Was this review helpful?
Heavy and uncomfortable despite lots of cushioning. Also, middle strap too tight as I have a high arch.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • BRENDA D - customer
  • from Florida
  • January 6, 2017
1 person found this review helpful
Karen from Michigan
StarStarStarStarStar
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:StarStarStarStarStarComfort:StarStarStarStarStarStyle:StarStarStarStarStar
Was this review helpful?
This is my second pair of Chaco's. I love that these shoes can go anywhere and look good.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Karen - customer
  • from Michigan
  • August 5, 2017
J from Philly
StarStarStarStarStar
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:StarStarStarStarStarComfort:StarStarStarStarStarStyle:StarStarStarStarStar
Was this review helpful?
These sandals were my first ever Zappos purchase 10 years ago. I'm not exaggerating. These sandals are so amazing, I still have them, and they're still in perfect shape, despite lots of heavy use. They are sturdy, durable and comfortable. they are also fairly heavy and rigid, so if you need a softer, lighter sole these are not for you. For me, these are as good as it gets. I've worn them twice backpacking for multiple weeks, including a trip to Morocco where these were the only shoes I wore (other than hiking boots) for two weeks. Highly recommended.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • J - customer
  • from Philly
  • July 14, 2017
StarStarStarStarStar
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:StarStarStarStarStarComfort:StarStarStarStarStarStyle:StarStarStarStarStar
Was this review helpful?
This is my fifth pair of Chacos. Im obsessed! This is however my first pair without the toe strap. I love the design of these so I decided to try no toe strap and I am glad I did. For wearing around the house and around town they are perfectly comfortable! If I go hiking I would definitely switch to a pair with the toe strap for more security since my feet slide around just a bit less with the toe, but that is just my preference to the toe strap these last ten years. But overall one more pair I absolutely love!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Anonymous - customer
  • July 3, 2017
Kelly from Winter Park, FL
StarStarStarStarStar
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:StarStarStarStarStarComfort:StarStarStarStarStarStyle:StarStarStarStarStar
Was this review helpful?
This is my second pair of Chacos, I got my first pair over 12 years ago and they were the traditional wrap-around-the-toe ones. I ordered these, because in the end, I didn't find the toe wrap very comfortable. We are about to go on a cruise and I needed something that I could wear to the beach and get wet, but also walk a good distance in, so I ordered these. They were comfy right out of the box. I usually wear a wide and these were no different. I feel like these are a bit lighter and less clunky than my chacos from way back. BTW I also have a high instep, so being able to adjust the straps so they fit just right is awesome.
I'd also recommend:
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Kelly - customer
  • from Winter Park, FL
  • June 13, 2017
Georgia
StarStarStarStarStar
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:StarStarStarStarStarComfort:StarStarStarStarStarStyle:StarStarStarStarStar
Was this review helpful?
Love these shoes! I have gotten so many compliments. I definitely like not having the toe strap. I wear a 9 in chaos, but a 9.5 in most running shoes.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Anonymous - customer
  • from Georgia
  • June 6, 2017
Denver
StarStarStarStarStar
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:StarStarStarStarStarComfort:StarStarStarStarStarStyle:StarStarStarStarStar
Was this review helpful?
I bought these for my 12 year old daughter and she loves them. I wanted a summer sandal that could would give her some good support for her very high arches and these are perfect. Her only complaint is that they are a little difficult to put on when her feet are wet. She doesn't wear them to the pool or beach because of that but has worn them everywhere else. The straps are soft and once we adjusted them to fit her foot, we haven't had to adjust them again.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Anonymous - customer
  • from Denver
  • May 31, 2017
Jennifer from Memphis, TN
StarStarStarStarStar
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:StarStarStarStarStarComfort:StarStarStarStarStarStyle:StarStarStarStarStar
Was this review helpful?
This is the most comfortable pair of Chaco's I own. Love the colors. Get compliments every time I wear them.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Jennifer - customer
  • from Memphis, TN
  • May 3, 2017
Amanda from Mississippi
StarStarStarStarStar
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:StarStarStarStarStarComfort:StarStarStarStarStarStyle:StarStarStarStarStar
Was this review helpful?
Great shoes! So comfortable and easy to put on and off. Zappos has the best customer service!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Amanda - customer
  • from Mississippi
  • May 2, 2017
StarStarStarStarStar
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:StarStarStarStarStarComfort:StarStarStarStarStarStyle:StarStarStarStarStar
Was this review helpful?
Love these Chacos! Our second pair for my daughter. Fits perfectly and easy to adjust to fit her size. She wears a 6-6.5. I purchased a 7 to allow for growing room and they fit perfectly.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Anonymous - customer
  • April 30, 2017
New York State
StarStarStarStarStar
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:StarStarStarStarStarComfort:StarStarStarStarStarStyle:StarStarStarStarStar
Was this review helpful?
Chaco are my new favorite summer sandals. I really like the straps across the heel so I don't have to scrunch my toes to keep the sandal s on. In regular shoes I wear an 8 but in sandals I size down to 7 and this worked perfectly with the Chacos.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Anonymous - customer
  • from New York State
  • April 26, 2017
Stephanie M from Bartlesville OK
StarStarStarStarStar
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:StarStarStarStarStarComfort:StarStarStarStarStarStyle:StarStarStarStarStar
Was this review helpful?
Bought these for my daughter. She has wide difficult to fit feet and these are perfect. The shoes are easy to manipulate the straps to get off and on. They fit me as well and support good on the base.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Stephanie M - customer
  • from Bartlesville OK
  • April 16, 2017
VA
StarStarStarStarStar
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:StarStarStarStarStarComfort:StarStarStarStarStarStyle:StarStarStarStarStar
Was this review helpful?
I own two pairs of the Chaco Z/1 and both have held up extremely well! I recommend Chaco sandals to everyone-men and women- because they are comfortable as well as practical. They fit true to size and are fully adjustable. Overall, I only have good things to say about these Chacos!
I'd also recommend:
Ahnu, Clarks, Merrells
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Anonymous - customer
  • from VA
  • March 31, 2017
Austin, TX
StarStarStarStarStar
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:StarStarStarStarStarComfort:StarStarStarStarStarStyle:StarStarStarStarStar
Was this review helpful?
I love these! I tried a pair of Z/2s a few years ago and just did not love the toe loop so I returned them. I was nervous that my foot would slip around in this version without the added toe grip, but I have not had any issues. I have plantar fasciitis and a heel spur so I need sandals with some heel cushion and arch support - these have been great so far (both walking around town on a rainy day and kayaking). And the double strap provides a more feminine look than some of the other river sandals. Recommended!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Anonymous - customer
  • from Austin, TX
  • March 18, 2017
Dianne G from Ballwin, MO
StarStarStarStarStar
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:StarStarStarStarStarComfort:StarStarStarStarStarStyle:StarStarStarStarStar
Was this review helpful?
I wear an 8.5WW or 9WW, depending on the shoe. I got these in the 9WW and I'm happy. Especially in sandals, I don't like any part of my foot to be near the edge. The 9WW give me the protective edge I want. Besides having wide feet, I also have a bunion on one foot and can't bend the large toe on my other foot due to arthritis. The strap on the shoe sits nicely in front of the bunion. And the stiff sole is what I look for so there's no need to bend my arthritic toe. These shoes also make my feet look smaller, which is a nice plus given the size and width of my big feet. So far I'm loving these sandals. My only concern is the roughish sole that touches the bottom of my feet. For longer walks, I may need to wear socks.
I'd also recommend:
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Dianne G - customer
  • from Ballwin, MO
  • January 17, 2017
StarStarStarStarStar
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:StarStarStarStarStarComfort:StarStarStarStarStarStyle:StarStarStarStarStar
Was this review helpful?
These shoes are great! Super comfortable, great for walking, and hold up really well. I usually wear an 8 in shoes but in these I had to go with a 7 wide.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a full size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Anonymous - customer
  • December 16, 2016
Gail from Florida
StarStarStarStarStar
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:StarStarStarStarStarComfort:StarStarStarStarStarStyle:StarStarStarStarStar
Was this review helpful?
I love these sandals and have them in many colors. They have a good arch and are so comfortable that I can walk in them all day.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Gail - customer
  • from Florida
  • December 12, 2016
Phoebe from Michigan
StarStarStarStarStar
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:StarStarStarStarStarComfort:StarStarStarStarStarStyle:StarStarStarStarStar
Was this review helpful?
Last pair of all black chaos lasted me 10 plus years. Looking for another pair. I bought the medusa rose pair, they look better in person. I was surprised to see a depth of color orange/red in the pattern that is very fun & sporty and 'rich' looking.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Phoebe - customer
  • from Michigan
  • November 18, 2016
Julie W from Naalehu, HI
StarStarStarStarStar
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:StarStarStarStarStarComfort:StarStarStarStarStarStyle:StarStarStarStarStar
Was this review helpful?
These sandals are very comfortable. I could wear them all day long. They adjust to fit your foot exactly. The arch support is excellent! I also think they look cute!
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Julie W - customer
  • from Naalehu, HI
  • November 8, 2016
Hongying from Rochester, NY
StarStarStarStarStar
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:StarStarStarStarStarComfort:StarStarStarStarStarStyle:StarStarStarStarStar
Was this review helpful?
It's great for walking.
I'd also recommend:
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt narrower than marked

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Hongying - customer
  • from Rochester, NY
  • October 30, 2016
Dblack from California
StarStarStarStarStar
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:StarStarStarStarStarComfort:StarStarStarStarStarStyle:StarStarStarStarStar
Was this review helpful?
These sandals have changed the way I walk. I've dealt with back pain when I walk long distance for most of my life, but I've only recently learned that it was due to over-pronation, possibly caused by high arches. All my life I've noticed that the heels of my shoes get worn down at a very strange angle, however with the Chacos my heels wear evenly. I think that the trick with Chacos Z/1 is the great arch support. These sandals are very comfortable, and I like their simplicity in style. I also like that they are so easy to keep clean and smell-free. But I do wish that they came in additional solid-color options, like gray or blue.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Dblack - customer
  • from California
  • October 27, 2016
Baltimore
StarStarStarStarStar
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:StarStarStarStarStarComfort:StarStarStarStarStarStyle:StarStarStarStarStar
Was this review helpful?
These are fantastic! My daughter brought them on a semester abroad where she backpacked all over and they really took a beating and kept her feet protected and comfortable! Love these shoes!!
I'd also recommend:
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt true to size

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt true to width

Poor SupportGreat Support

Moderate arch support

  • Anonymous - customer
  • from Baltimore
  • October 9, 2016
Midwest
StarStarStarStarStar
Review for Zappos Rewards Points(What's this?)
Overall:StarStarStarStarStarComfort:StarStarStarStarStarStyle:StarStarStarStarStar
Was this review helpful?
Since these only come in whole sizes, I got the 9W and I normally wear an 8.5W. They are way to big so can't comment on comfort because of that.
Fit Survey
Runs SmallRuns Large

Felt a half size larger than marked

Runs NarrowRuns Wide

Felt wider than marked

Poor SupportGreat Support

Excellent arch support

  • Anonymous - customer
  • from Midwest
  • September 11, 2016
1 of 2
Zappos Family Culture

Learn what inspires Zappos.com to provide the best service!

Zappos Family Core Values:10 Values We Live By »

Customer Testimonials:Customers Connect »

Enjoy Fun and A Little Weirdness:Check out Blogs »

The Zappos.com Experience:Share Your Videos »

Unique Customers:Furry Customers »
Customers In Training »

Become a Part of the Zappos Family Culture:Careers »

Shop With Confidence
Shopping on Zappos.com is Safe and Secure. Guaranteed!

You'll pay nothing if unauthorized charges are made to your credit card as a result of shopping at Zappos.com.

Safe Shopping Guarantee

BBBOnLine Reliability SealBizrate 2010 Circle of Excellence Platinum

All information is encrypted and transmitted without risk using a Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) protocol.

How We Protect Your Personal Data »

Free Shipping
and Free Returns

If, for any reason, you are unsatisfied with your purchase from Zappos Retail, Inc. you may return it in its original condition within 365 days for a refund. We'll even pay for return shipping!

Read our Shipping and Return Policies »

Privacy Policy

Zappos.com respects your privacy. We don't rent or sell your personal information to anyone.

Read our Privacy Policy »